“There were fixed points. Most of the time those points were places. But sometimes, rarely, they were books. For something that never stood still, ADSOM still felt like a pin in her world. One she was sure to snag on.”

Ok, so that’s not the exact quote but you know what I mean.
This book was as good as its cover may suggest (and, let me tell you, I fell into insta-love with that gorgeousness). My reviews usually go something like this: I rant about the plot, the characters, the writing, and decide whether or not I’d make it into a film (once I make friends with a couple of nice investors, that is), but this time around, I couldn’t find flaws big enough to make for a coherent review.
The plot was topnotch. There were parts that reminded me of Howl’s Moving Castle, Harry Potter, The Lord of the Rings, and Game of Thrones and I loved the book all the more for it. It had this sense of originality and nostalgia all roped into one amazing adventure.

The characters were very engaging. Was it only me or did Lila seem like Kaz Brekker and Inej Ghafa’s love child and Kell, Howl and Sophie’s? Like not their biological children, but literary ones…
Yes… no?
Maybe?
Ok, moving on.
Holland was my favorite character (poor baby, he did suffer beautifully). I really want to know what will happen to him.I have a sneaking suspicion that he’s not actually dead. After all, it’s not that easy to kill an Antari. 

As for the writing, well it was a breed of transportative magic all in its own right.
V.E. Schwab had a way with words and sentences that made for an enchanting ride through three very different Londons. And I can’t wait to see where it will take me next.

Filmmability.
Is it possible to make a profitable movie from these series? Yes.
I could imagine everything very clearly and with so many familiar feels, I think ADSOM already has a very large audience to market to.
description

You see?
All waiting for an ADSOM movie franchise.
Alright, now I gotta go. Wish I could stay longer and write more about this book but I really, really want to read the second one and it’s sitting there taunting me and pulling at me with its clever magic.
And I can’t resist.

More tips, reviews, and stories every Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday. 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Darker Shade of Magic

Leave a Reply

