I will make this review as quick-paced and vibrant as the book.

I read Caraval by Stephanie Garber in one day and that says a lot because that is never usually the case with me. To say that it was good would be an understatement. To say that it was great wouldn’t be enough.
It was wild and magical and all things fun and lovely.
Scarlet (Crimson) was a fantastic protagonist and an awesome sister to Donatella (Tella) who was also a fantastic protagonist. Oh and Julian… I didn’t like him at first but man did my opinion change as I read on *squeal*.
There were so many twists and turns, especially towards the end that I couldn’t put it down until I knew who was who and what was what and where was where. Anyway, you get my point. It was a ride to remember.
description
And I have to commend Stephanie Garber for creating an enchanting world that was an unexpectedly pleasant mix of Wonderland and the magic of Hayao Miyazaki films. Just awesome *claps slowly and bows*.
description
Now you may want to know if there were any flaws in this book? And the answer is, sure (nobody’s perfect).
But did I care? Nope (not a tiny bit).
And you probably won’t either.
So if you’re wondering whether or not you should read this book, let me make the choice easy for you. YES, go read the damn book. Read it and you won’t regret it.
Correction, you might regret it… when you realize that the second book doesn’t even have a title yet. But hey, it’s worth every delicious moment, after all magic has a price and Caraval is no exception, and a few days of your life don’t seem like such a bad trade for this marvel of a book.

Also that ending… did not expect that coming.
description

Tell me what you thought if you’ve already read this little treasure of a book, if not, go read it.

Come back every Wednesday for more gif riddled reviews.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Caraval

    • Good question! Sometimes the writing got too purple prosy, if you know what I mean, and I couldn’t imagine some things as clearly as I’d like. And, in my opinion, the issue with their father got resolved too quickly in the end (I can’t tell you how exactly ’cause spoilers). But I hope you enjoy the book! Do let me know what you think whenever you’re done with it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

