I read Six of Crows and I loved it, so I thought I’d share the love.
I went into this world blind. I haven’t read Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone trilogy and didn’t know anything about the Grishaverse. I have to say that I had to try this book twice in order to get into it. The first time around, the prologue killed me. The second time around, I sped through it and actually got to the good part (so if you’re like me and didn’t like the prologue then know that there’s light at the end of the tunnel).
The first chapter was a piece of awesomeness wrapped in a shiny, black package with golden stars. It was magic. The plot was tightly woven and fast-paced. The characters were a lovely surprise (seeing as I usually dislike books with multiple POVs). And the writing was very atmospheric.
The only thing I wasn’t a fan of was the very long backstory dumps. Don’t get me wrong, I loved learning more about the characters, but it’s just that’s when I found it easiest to put the book down and go do other stuff (like sleep).
Anyhow, I suggest that you pick up this book and experience the magic for yourself.

Leave a Reply

